Gems in Israel
Spotlighting Israel's Lesser Known Tourist Attractions and Travel Sites, the Gems.

July 2000  
ISSN: 1527-9812  
FRONT PAGE

THIS MONTH

Acre, Akko, or Acco?
The Templar Tunnel
The Shrine of Baha' U’ llah
Pasha’s Turkish Bathhouse (Hammam)
On the Side - A Pharmacy of Spices
An Ominous Former Prison
Multi-site Tickets
Thank Yous
Gems News

Related Articles

Jesus around the Sea of Galilee
Miracle of the Swine
World of the Bible Gardens
Notre Dame Arche D'Alliance
Bethsaida
The German Templar Colony
The Carmelites
Guesthouses in Jerusalem
Haifa’s Churches
The First Meteorological Station - Beit Jamal
The Crusaders
Gems in Israel – Touring Israel
The Templar Tunnel

The Templars, who were also known as the Poor Knights of Christ and of the Temple of Solomon, built this tunnel. In the second half of the 12th century they built their quarter in the southwestern part of Akko. Discovered in 1994, this tunnel, which was carved into the bedrock has been open to the public since August of 1999.

You could easily miss it, if you did not know of its existence and since it will only take a few minutes of your time it would be a shame to miss it if you are already walking in the area.

The tunnel leads from the port in the east to the fortress in the western part of the city. It is about 1050 feet (350 meters long) and crosses the Pisan quarter. To maintain a fixed groundwater level a special water pumping system had to be installed and a wooden walkway was constructed above the water so that when visitors walk they can see the water on either side of the walkway. The water, by the way, is fresh water and not salt water as one might expect.

King Baldwin II of Jerusalem gave the Order lodging in his palace – near the area where the Jewish Temple had once been, which how the Order got its name, The Order of the Poor Knights of Christ and of the Temple of Solomon. It was established in Jerusalem during the Crusade era when pilgrims were routinely attacked by Muslims. Eight or nine French knights who decided something had to be done to safeguard passage of the pilgrims established the Order specifically to ensure the pilgrims protection.

With time, the Order expanded its activities beyond the protection of pilgrims and became a formidable military strength with considerable wealth. The Order also became extremely secretive.

Fear of their increasing strength led to accusations of heresy by King Philip IV of France and ultimately resulted in the suppression of the Order by Pope Clement V in March of 1312. Subsequently – Jaques de Molay, the Order’s grand master was burned at the stake in 1314.

Directions: The port side entrance to the tunnel is located on Haganah Street, near the Uri Buri restaurant.

Visiting Hours: Daily 8:30 AM – 5:30 PM

Entry fees: Adults, 10 NIS/pp, Children and Senior Citizens, 7 NIS/pp.


The Templar Tunnel
The Templar Tunnel
Subscribe Now
 
For people interested in more than just the major tourist attractions. For seasoned and first-time visitors to Israel and anyone who dreams of one day visiting the holy-land.
Share Gems with a Friend
The Gems Archive

Hotels in Israel

Private Tours of Israel

Jerusalem Hotels

Tel Aviv Hotels

Eilat Hotels

Dead Sea Hotels


Package Tours

Daily Excursions

Israel Car Rental

Bar Mitzvah Tour

Bat Mitzvah Tour

Travel and Events in Israel


Places in Israel

Subscribe

e-books



About Us

Archive

Maps of Israel

Books

Glossary

Link to Gems in Israel

Links

Tell a Friend

Recipes

Sitemap

Search

Contact

Home


AllCrusades

Published by Yael (Zisling) Adar
Copyright © 1999-2002 Yael (Zisling) Adar - Gems in Israel - www.GemsinIsrael.com. All rights reserved.
Gems in Israel, ISSN: 1527-9812,www.GemsinIsrael.com. Gems in Israel may only be redistributed in its unedited form. Written permission from the editor must be obtained to reprint or cite the information contained within this online publication.
TELL A FRIEND
EMAIL
VIEW ARCHIVE
<